First Year Arrowman Award!

In order to recognize those Arrowman who have dedicated themselves to Mishigami Lodge in their first year as a member, we offer the First Year Arrowman Award. To earn this award you must complete the requirements within 12 months of your Ordeal. This award will be presented at Winter Banquet following the completion of the requirements. You can email the completed form to the Lodge Treasurer or Awards Chairman at or fill out the google form Adult First Year Arrrowman Award Application or Youth First Year Arrrowman Award Application.

You can also use a pdf to print and email to

Download pdf file below.

To see the past First Year Arrowman recipients click here.



The Mastodon Award was created to recognize Arrowmen who are active, upstanding members of Mishigami Lodge and the Order of the Arrow. In order to be considered for this award, you must first complete both the core and elective requirements listed below. After submission, the Awards Selection Committee will review your application before presenting the award at Winter Banquet. 

Core – Do all of the following:

1. Maintain dues-paying membership for 2 years

2. Attend at least 3 lodge/area events Induction/Banquet after your Ordeal

3. Attend at least 1 lodge Fall Fellowship or Winter Banquet

4. Have attained Brotherhood membership

5. Participate actively in your registered Scouting position.

Elective – Do 4 of the following:

1. Serve on a lodge/area/chapter committee

2. Attend 4 chapter meetings

3. Attend 6 lodge meetings

4. Take part in an OA service project outside of an Induction

5. Take part in 4 MSU seatback fundraiser work days or 4 UofM parking fundraiser

6. Take part in conducting 5 unit-elections

7. Take part in 5 camp promotion presentations

8. Serve as a Principal Ceremonialist in an Ordeal, Brotherhood, or Vigil Ceremony

9. Be an Elangomat

To see the past Mishigami Mastodon recipients click here.

Follow the link below to apply for the Mastodon Award.


The purpose of the Silver Tusk Award is to recognize Arrowmen who have made outstanding contributions above and beyond the call to service; Those Arrowmen who exemplify the obligation of our Order and live it, the Scout Oath, and Scout Law in their daily lives, who have uncompromisingly shown unselfish service and devotion to the Order, Scouting, and the longevity of Mishigami Lodge. 

This award has only 3 requirements: 

  1. Each candidate must be a Brotherhood member in good standing
  2. Each candidate must have earned the Mastodon Award 
  3. Each candidate must be nominated by another member in good standing

Thinking of someone to nominate? Ask yourself these questions:  

Do you know someone who truly goes above and beyond the call to service in the OA? 

Do you know someone who gives unselfishly to their chapter, area, or lodge? 

Do you know someone who compassionately leads others in service? 

Do you know someone whose service and dedication is deserving of recognition?

Do you know someone who asks, “What’s next?” after a service project? 

Do you know someone who truly heads the Admonition in their daily life? 

Do you see someone that works tirelessly behind the scenes and is rarely recognized for the work they do? 

If you said yes to the above questions, please nominate that individual so that they can receive the recognition they deserve!

To see the past Mishigami Silver Tusk recipients click here.

Follow the link below to nominate someone for the Silver Tusk Award.


Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson. 

The Founder’s Award is the highest award for service that a Lodge can bestow upon an individual Arrowman. 

Each year, Mishigami Lodge may petition the National Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to four awards.

Those awarded the Founder’s Award are those whose service is noticed by all. Their outgoing selflessness leaves an impression on all those they come into contact with. While awardees are typically Lodge Officers, Advisors, or Associate Advisors, there are no set requirements or criteria for the Founder’s Award; One just must be a member in good standing, be nominated by a peer, and be found worthy. 

If you know someone who truly lives the OA Obligation in their daily life, embodying the virtue of Cheerful Service and the Spirit of Achievement, please nominate that individual so that they can receive the recognition they deserve! 

To see the past Mishigami Founders recipients click here.

Follow the link below to nominate someone for the Founder’s Award.


The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person’s conscious endeavors.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to one or more of the following:

  • Lodge
  • Order of the Arrow
  • Scouting community
  • Scout Camp

Alertness to the needs of others is the mark of the Vigil Honor. It calls for an individual with an unusual awareness of the possibilities within each situation.

To see the past Mishigami Vigil recipients click here.

Follow the link to nominate someone for the 2025 Vigil Honor


The lodge recognizes Arrowmen who have gone above and beyond in service to the lodge and Scouting in Michigan. As the lodge recognizes these indivuals the lodge also donates $1000 to the Michigan Crossroads Council endowment fund per recognition.

To see the past James E West recipients click here.


The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is National award that was created in 1940 to honor those persons who render service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to those OA members who render distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, and/or national basis. It is given primarily for dedicated service to the Order and Scouting over a period of years. The award is presented every two to three years during the National Order of the Arrow Conference.

To see the past DSA recipients from Michigan click here.